Vadim's Weblog

Never stop learning.

Shop-2009.com Spam

Posted by Vadim on May 10, 2009

Yesterday I received this email from my wife’s hotmail account:

Dear friend:

       how are you doing recently ? I would like to introduce you a very good company which i knew.They can offer you all kinds of electronical products which you need, such as motorcycles, laptops, mobile phones, digial cameras, TV LCD, xbox, ps3, gps, MP3/4, etc. Please take some time to have a look at it,there must be something you’d like to purchase.

the website:     shop-2009.com

Their Email:     shop09@188.com

Hope you have a good mood in shopping from their company!

Actually this spam was sent to everybody in her contacts.

I did let her know that someone got access to her hotmail account and urged her to change the hotmail password.

An hour later she told me that when she tries to sent an email the same text appears in all her messages.  After further investigation, it was obvious that the message was in her mail signature.

How to change your Live Hotmail signature.

What happen is that my wife logged on someone else computer that had a key logger, and her hotmail identity was stolen.  She is lucky that her password wasn’t change.

I took following steps to make sure that my wife’s account doesn’t have any foreign fingerprints left.  Please let me know if you think that I missed something.

  1. Changed Password.
  2. Changed the secure question and the secret answer.
  3. Made sure that there’s no alternate e-mail addresses that we don’t recognize.
  4. Made sure that there’s no mobile number and PIN we don’t recognize.
  5. Made sure that we recognize all emails in “Send and receive mail form other e-mail accounts section.
  6. Made sure that our “Vacation reply” wasn’t tempered.
  7. Removed tempered signature.
  8. Made sure that Reply-to address wasn’t tempered.

25 Responses to “Shop-2009.com Spam”

  1. Mary Ellen said

    Exactly the same thing with the same message happened to me 2 days ago. Every email I send now has that message in it. I have been researching the problem. Hotmail has not responded to my requests for help. A computer person I talked to told me the problem was a “bot” on the hotmail server and the only thing I could do would be to close the account. I was also told that Google has a more secure server and does not have this problem. I think we are not alone. It has happened to many, many hotmail users.

  2. marlene said

    I didn’t even send any e-mails but this morning I recived same e-mail & I’m not even loging in to my computer I’m using my blackberry!!where did it come from???

  3. martin said

    I also received this mail and it also sent itself out to all my contacts. What is strange to me is that I received the message from myself! Of course, I didn’t actually send it to myself, and I don’t know how it got in. But, there it was, form me, and then sent to my whole list of contacts.
    I do seem to be lucky though in that it doesn’t seem to have changed my signature or attached itself in any other way.
    Does Hotmail have any idea this is going on? I’ve heard that it’s malware and spyware and keyloggers and all sorts of things, but what’s the real truth?

  4. Marv Weston said

    May 22nd. Happened today, same as described. The only time I used a computer other than our own was while on vacation at a Holiday Inn in Maryland three weeks ago.

  5. marlene said

    There is a web site for “shop2009.com its a japan catalog online store.

  6. Andy said

    This message was sent to many of my contacts, but perhaps not all of them:
    Dear firend:
    >> Hello.How are you doing recently?Some days ago, I came across a
    >> wonderful electronic company on the web and had a pleasant chat with the
    >> sales manager. He told me that they are planning to lower the prices
    >> greatly in order to adapt to the global economic crisis, so that they
    >> can expand their overseas market. I have bought an iphone and a
    >> computer,and i am very satisfied with their items and services.If you
    >> have time,you can have a look.
    >> Their website: shop-2009.com
    >> Their Email: shop09@188.com
    >> Hope you have a good mood in shopping from their company!

    Luckily I haven’t had a problem since then except that it appears all my sent messages for the last 2 weeks have been obliterated, and thus I cannot track when the messages were sent from my account. The only thing I could have done was to subscribe to a newsletter on a job search website- http://www.tefl.com. After I confirmed my membership for the newsletter, the messages went out. I haven’t signed on to any other computers.

  7. Norman said

    Its also worth mentioning the website is also a scam – they don’t actually deliver anything. I feel its important to make this clear.

  8. Beersheba said

    This is scam. It are a wrong website they do take your money and run like the wind. This is so I say it true when you send money you never see again. Best you to run away from website this no good you listening to what I say.

  9. Amo said

    I had the same issue w/ my contacts being solicited & spammed by this email. It doesn’t surprise me that this comapny does not ship anything…
    Go into your options menu> more options> signature, and there you will have it!
    Good luck hotmail users…

  10. John said

    Same thing happened to me. My email address was used to send this shop-2009.com spam to all my contacts.

    I did not even bother to send out notices to my contacts that the message they received was SPAM (because I thought they would already be frustrated).

    But, now that I hear that this website even takes money from the innocent people, I am wondering whether Hotmail should itself send out the warning message to all email users. This problem seems to be limited to the Hotmail, so we should ask Hotmail to send out the warning, and ask them to take police action against this spammers.

    I am emailing Hotmail right now.

  11. Hotmail User said

    This morning it appears this message has hit everyone in my address book – I can tell because of the fact that there are dozens of bounced messages.

    I run outlook express on two pcs and I rarely access my hotmail account via the web. Both PCs are secure and belong to me.

    Interesting fact – my sender name is quite different between my outlook and hotmail webmail. I do it for a reason – there are also differences in my address book. I can honestly say that I am 100% positive it was sent via webmail and not through my computer.

    I am trying to determine where this problem originated because I don’t want any security issues.

  12. rover said

    I never gave my account info to anyone and deleted all my contacts from hotmail earlier this year when something similar happened. I just now saw that someone sent email below to those I emailed recently (they’re not in my contact list which is empty):
    quote
    subject: Hello T
    1
    Hey,
    how are you doing recently?
    I would like to introduce you a very good company and its website is wwwDOTtradejoycnDOTcom It can offer you all kinds of electronic products that you may be in need,such as laptops ,gps ,TV LCD,cell phones,ps3,MP3/4,motorcycles and etc……..
    You can take some time to have a check ,there must be something interesting you ‘d like to purchase .
    The contact email: tradejoycnAT188DOTcom MSN: tradejoycnAThotmailDOTcom
    Hope you can enjoy yourself in shopping from that company !
    Regards
    2
    unquote

    I did a full Microsoft Security Essentials Scan and received a severe alert level Exploit:JS/Mult.BB malware which was removed. I hope this will cure this matter…

  13. james said

    how do I get shop2009 of my hotmail account,hotmail people is not helping.
    helpppppppppppppppppppppppppp

  14. ching said

    it hiden in you signature on hotmail option —moroption –personan signature— in massage box deleted all it and save..just ok

  15. Anonymous said

    thank you very much Ching!! I had that message for a long time now, and I was already used to erase it before sending any email. I did what you said. I went to options- more options- writing email- mesage font and signature- and there it was. THANK YOU VERY MUCH!! I hope it has helped all the others

  16. Anonymous said

    Thank You, Thank You Ching!! It worked!! Wow!! Im sooooo happy, Ive had that dumb message in my email for 3 years and its finally GONE!! Awesome!! TY

  17. Ella Como said

    Major thankies for the blog article.Much thanks again. Awesome.

  18. Anonymous said

    Thank you everyone. Had that annoying damn message on my emails for three years. Took me a while to delete the whole message as I kept geeting message my computer detected an error if I tried to remove the statement all at once an . So I deleted it a bit at a time,pressed save and repeated until whole message was gone!

  19. XPolice said

    What’s the old saying, “If it’s Too Good To Be True”. What made me supisions right away is the, “have almost everything factor”, No Way No How could this work for some products such as vehicles!!!

Leave a Reply

 
