Vadim's Weblog

Never stop learning.

Where’s my R# File Templates?

Posted by Vadim on May 27, 2008

After installing ReSharper 4.0 Beta over a previous version, my user defined File Templates disappeared.  I was able to use my user defined Live Templates.  After some investigation, I was able to figure out how to get them back.

Actually they didn’t disappear, I just had to associate them with project types.

reShrp_template

In case the same happens to you and you cannot find your File Templates here are the steps to get them back.

1. Follow the same steps as you would do when a adding a new item:

Click right button on your project in Visual Studio and select Add -> New from Template -> More… .

Now you should see ‘Choose Template’ dialog.

 

2. In ‘Choose Template’ dialog click on ‘Add to quicklist’ check box and select the type of the project your template should belong.  In my case I had to select ‘C# Projects’

choose_template

I just want to mentioned that this behavior I’ve happened in VS2005, I haven’t check what happens in VS 2008.

One Response to “Where’s my R# File Templates?”

  1. Hi,

    Thanks for sharing this issue – it should have been fixed in build 812 which will be out this week.

    WBR,
    Oleg Stepanov
    .NET Tools Manager
    JetBrains Inc.
    “Develop with Pleasure!”

Leave a Reply

 
